Turkey’s new parliament to hold first session on July 8

According to Mikrofonnews Agency (MHA), Turkey’s new parliament will hold its first plenary session on July 8 at 2.p.m. local time (1100GMT), three days after the Supreme Election Council (YSK) gives final official results for the June 24 general elections.

Republican People’s Party’s (CHP) Deputy Deniz Baykal — at 80, the parliament’s oldest deputy — will chair the assembly as the acting speaker, Anadolu Agency reports.

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, as well as lawmakers, will be sworn in at the parliament in the capital Ankara on July 8.

After the swearing-in, Baykal will hand over the speaker’s duties to Durmus Yilmaz, the second-oldest member of parliament.

Yilmaz was elected from the Ankara province as a lawmaker from the Good (IYI) Party.

According to official results of Sunday’s elections, the Justice and Development (AK) Party won 295 seats in the 600-member Grand National Assembly.

The CHP came in second, claiming 146 seats, while the Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP) secured 67 seats, the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) 49 seats, and the IYI Party 43 seats.

Skip to toolbar